One rule idea to submit photos to SB. Photographer

/ 1 decade ago (27 January 2007 03:46)

All of you do know that I am a very strict photographer. Because I think photography should be a strict art. Let me explain.

When you submit a photograph to the web, you should have the option of declaring that the photograph is "unmanipulated". Why is this, and what does it mean? Why declare that an image is not manipulated?

In many applications of photography, it is extremely important that a photograph be created through as as straight-forward a transfer as possible from what was recorded on the film or the imaging sensor of the camera to the image the viewer sees. Obvious examples would be photographs presented as evidence in a court case, as part of a medical record, with an insurance claim, or as an illustration of a news article in a newspaper or journalistic article. Photographs presented in such contexts are assumed by their viewers to be literally true, to be non-fictional documentation, testimony or reporting. A photographer breaks faith with the viewer and violates important canons of professional ethics if he manipulates the photographs so that they are not what he or she witnessed and what the camera captured. Other photographic genres, such as wildlife and nature photography have equally strong ethical strictures against manipulated images. Presenting a manipulated photograph in such an context is the moral equivalent of lying, and may literally be perjury.

In other domains of photography, non-manipulation of images is less of a moral imperative than in these examples. Nobody is morally outraged to learn that an advertising photograph has been manipulated, and indeed, most of them are elaborately staged pre-exposure and manipulated post-exposure.